WooCommerce is required for FooEvents. Please install and activate the latest version of WooCommerce.

Legal Summary | Vermont Concealed Carry Class and Resources

Top Menu

Legal Summary

Vermont Gun Laws

  Open Carry: Lawful
  Duty to Notify Law Enforcement: No duty to notify
  State Parks: Concealed Carry is legal in accordance with state laws that regulate the right to carry
  Restaurants Serving Alcohol: No restriction
  Firearms at Colleges: Schools individually decide the weapons policy.
  Firearms at K-12 Schools: Unloaded firearms in locked cases in vehicles only.
  Magazine Capacity Limitations: A person shall not manufacture, possess, transfer, offer for sale purchase, or receive, or import into this
State a large capacity ammunition feeding device. This includes a magazine, belt, drum,
feed strip, or similar device that has a capacity of, or that can be readily restored or converted to accept: more than 10 rounds of ammunition for a long gun; or more than 15 rounds of ammunition for a hand gun. Some exceptions apply.
  Suppressor Ownership: Lawful
  Vehicle Possession Without Recognized Permit: Loaded handguns allowed in vehicle. Long guns must be unloaded
  Firearm Law Uniformity: Uniform throughout state
  Permit Training Requirements: N/A
  Permit Issuing Authority: N/A
  May/Shall Issue: Shall Issue
  State Contact Info: Vermont Attorney General
109 State St
Montpelier, VT 05609
801-828-3171
ago.vermont.gov
  Length of Permit Validity: N/A
  Permit Application Process: Vermont doesn't issue permits.
  Non-Resident Permits: N/A
  Places Off Limits: (a) No person shall knowingly possess a firearm or a dangerous or deadly weapon while within a school
building or on a school bus. A person who violates this section shall, for the first offense, be imprisoned not
more than one year or fined not more than $1,000.00, or both, and for a second or subsequent offense shall
be imprisoned not more than three years or fined not more than $5,000.00, or both.

(b) No person shall knowingly possess a firearm or a dangerous or deadly weapon on any school property
with the intent to injure another person. A person who violates this section shall, for the first offense, be
imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than $1,000.00, or both, and for a second or
subsequent offense shall be imprisoned not more than three years or fined not more than $5,000.00, or both.
(c) This section shall not apply to:
(1) A law enforcement officer while engaged in law enforcement duties.
(2) Possession and use of firearms or dangerous or deadly weapons if the board of school directors, or
the superintendent or principal if delegated authority to do so by the board, authorizes possession
or use for specific occasions or for instructional or other specific purposes.
(b) A person who, while within a courthouse and without authorization from the court,
(1) carries or has in his or her possession a firearm; or
(2) knowingly carries or has in his or her possession a dangerous or deadly weapon, other than a
firearm, shall be imprisoned not more than one year or fined not more than $500.00, or both.
  Constitutional Carry: Yes. The first state to offer carry without a permit simply because they have never had a permit program or required such a thing to carry. Both residents and non-residents 18+ may carry.
  Resident Permit Reciprocity:
  Duty to Retreat: No duty to retreat if the deadly force was immediately necessary to defend against imminent threat of death or bodily injury
  Hotels: No legal restriction - Reference article on page 67
Disclaimer:
While Concealed Carry Inc strives to maintain legal reference information updated on this website; you as the reader and gun owner are responsible to do any and all necessary research and consult with a local attorney before making any decisions. Concealed Carry Inc is not liable for any misinformation, inaccuracies, or actions taken based on this information. We are not attorneys and this information is not legal advice. If you see any information you feel is outdated or incorrect please contact us.

Legal Summaries for all 50 states are available free on our site and mobile app.